Click to Home
Go To Search
Email pagePrint page
Commendations and Complaints

Internal Affairs

The Celina Police Department is dedicated to providing the best service possible to all citizens. Our officers are carefully selected and trained to provide service to the community. This section gives an overview of the ways to commend exemplary performance or file a complaint against an officer.

Download Complaint Form

Commendations

If you see an officer exhibit outstanding behavior, tell the officer and/or their supervisor about it. The following are suggestions for commending an officer.

    • Write a letter to the officer’s supervisor, or the Police Chief at:

Celina Police Department
501 E Pecan St.
Celina, TX 75009

Commendation letters are logged and placed in the officer’s permanent personnel file.

    • Call the Police Department at 972-382.2121 and ask to speak with the officer’s supervisor.
    • If you are unsure of the officer’s name, describe the officer and list the specific actions or demeanor that impressed you. Mention the location, date and time the incident occurred.

Complaints

When a citizen has a complaint against an officer, the complaint is directed to the department’s Internal Affairs Division, located at Police Department, 501 E. Pecan Street in Celina, 972-382.2121. Office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday

Texas law requires that all complaints against police officers be in writing and signed by the person making the complaint. Complaints must be made within 30 days of the incident unless special circumstances exist. The person who was wronged must file the complaint; other persons may give statements as witnesses.

Internal Affairs investigators will ensure that a thorough investigation of your complaint is conducted. Just as citizens who are arrested must be told the charges against them, a police officer must be given a copy of the complaint before any disciplinary action is taken. When the investigation is completed, you will be notified of the results and action taken.

False Complaints

Filing a false complaint against a police officer is a violation of the Texas Penal Code, Section 37.02. If a person knowingly and intentionally makes a false statement under oath, or swears to the truth of a false statement previously made under oath, a person may be found guilty and punished by a fine up to $4,000, confinement in jail up to one year, or by both fine and imprisonment.

What happens when a complaint is upheld?

When the investigation finds that the charges against a police officer are true, the officer’s supervisor notifies the officer and may take one of the following actions:
(1) reprimand the officer verbally or in writing;
(2) suspend the officer without pay;
(3) demote the officer; or
(4) discharge the officer.

Officers can appeal the department’s decision to uphold a complaint and the decision to discipline the officer.

What happens when a complaint is not upheld?

Complaints must be supported by sufficient evidence. When the investigation cannot find the degree of evidence necessary to prove the officer acted improperly, the officer and the citizen are both notified in writing.

Racial Profiling Complaints

CCP Art. 2.132 Law Enforcement Policy on Racial Profiling requires the department to provide public education on the racial profiling complaint process. For the Celina Police Department, this process is the same as the department’s complaint process, as described on this web site.

The Celina Police Department is extremely interested in taking action when its officers are negligent in their duties or are guilty of wrongdoing. Your complaint will be given a fair and thorough investigation.

Contact Us At

Celina Police Department
501 E Pecan St.
Celina, TX 75009

972-382-2121